Font size and quality of charts

Share RGraph:   Share or Like RGraph on Facebook!

« Back to message list

Enter your email address to get email updates on this topic. You can stop receiving updates by clicking the link in the update email messages.

Posted by ByteBlocks on 25th March 2013
Hi,
I am new to RGraph. This question may be something that has already been answered.
I am plotting a bar chart on my page. The chart is rendering but it has following issues.
  1. The quality of image is very poor.
  2. The font used to draw axis labels and titles is very big.
  3. When I tried to control text size and set it to 5, image became more blurry that it was originally.

I looked at your examples and demo and they look fine. I am not doing anything special here.

Here is js that I used.

var displayData = getChartDisplayData(chartData);
             var bar = new RGraph.Bar('sectorChartCanvas', displayData.numbers);
             var left = 35;
             var right = left + 400;
             bar.Set('chart.gutter.left', left);
             bar.Set('chart.colors', ['blue']);
             bar.Set('chart.text.size', 5);
             bar.Set('chart.bevel', true);
             bar.Set('chart.colors.sequential', true);
             bar.Set('chart.shadow', true);
             bar.Set('chart.shadow.color', '#ccc');
             bar.Set('chart.title', 'Company Sectors');
             bar.Set('chart.labels', displayData.labels);
             bar.Draw();
Posted by RGraph support on 25th March 2013
Hi there,

Are you sizing the canvas with CSS? You should use the HTML attributes like this:

<canvas id="sectorChartCanvas" width="600" height="250">[No canvas support]</canvas>

Richard, RGraph Support
Here is what I am using..
<canvas id="sectorChartCanvas" style="height:300px;width: 450px;"></canvas>
Hi there,

So yes then. Use the canvas tag that I posted above that uses the HTML width/height attributes.

Richard